Launch of the K-15 SLBM, January 2013 (Courtesy: DRDO)

Test Launch of the K-15 (aka B0-5) SLBM, January 2013 (Courtesy: Defense Research and Development Organization (DRDO))


INdia missile chart

Below is a list of India’s major missile systems either in operation or under development.(a)

Last Updated on March 13, 2017

Name Type Range


Payload Capacity Last Reported Test Inducted?


Prithvi-I Ballistic 150 km Single/Liquid 800 kg* May 2007 Y(b) Y
Prithvi-II Ballistic 350 km Single/Liquid 500-1,000 kg November 2016* Y Y
Dhanush Ballistic 350 km Single/Liquid 500 kg April 2015* Y* Y
Agni-I Ballistic 700 km Single/Solid* 1,000 kg* November 2016* Y Y*
Agni-II Ballistic 2,000 km Two/Solid 1 ton November 2014 Y Y
Agni-III Ballistic 3,500 km Two/Solid 1.5 tons April 2015* Y Y*
Agni-IV Ballistic 4,000 km Two/Solid 1,000 kg* January 2017 Y* Y
Agni-V Ballistic +5,000 km Three/Solid 1,000 kg* December 2016 N Y
Prahaar Ballistic 150 km Single/Solid 200 kg July 2011 N* N*
Pragati Ballistic* 60 km - 170 km* Single/Solid* 200 kg Not Tested N* N*
K-15 (aka B0-5) SLBM(c) 750 km* Two/Solid* 1,000 kg* January 2013 N Y*
K-4 SLBM* 3,500 km* Two/Solid* Unknown March 2016(d)* N* Y*
BrahMos Cruise 290-400 km Two/Solid and Liquid(e) 200-300 kg March 2017

(f)N-I: Y

B-I: Y





Nirbhay Cruise 1,000 km Two/solid and liquid(g) 450 kg* December 2016(h)* N* Y*

a. Due to the secrecy surrounding missile programs, not all the information in this chart is available from official open sources. Some data come from reliable secondary sources. These data are indicated by an asterisk(*).

b. The Prithvi-I will reportedly be withdrawn from service and upgraded.

c. Submarine-Launched Ballistic Missile.

d. The K-4 was reportedly tested twice in March 2016. The first test was on March 7, and the second on March 31. The March 31 test was the first conducted from the INS Arihant ballistic missile submarine (SSBN).

e. The boost phase is solid-fueled while the cruise phase is powered by a liquid ramjet engine.

f. The BrahMos is deployed on multiple platforms. Each deployment has its own designation. N-I refers to deployments on surface naval vessels. Blocks (B) I-III refer to deployments with the Indian Army. ALCM refers to Air-Launched Cruise Missiles and SLCM refers to Submarine-Launched Cruise Missiles.

g. The boost phase is solid-fueled while the cruise phase is powered by a liquid turbofan engine.

h. This test was not successful.